FIFA Women’s World Cup Playoff Tournament will held in New Zealand

Jenny Bowtie
FIFA Women's World Cup

The inaugural Women’s World Cup Playoff Tournament will be held next February 17-23 in Hamilton and Auckland, New Zealand, according to FIFA.

The Playoff Tournament will include ten teams battling for the final three qualifying positions for the Women’s World Cup, which will be hosted by Australia and New Zealand beginning July 20, 2023.

Thailand and Taiwan have confirmed their participation in the competition, with the remaining eight teams qualifying through their respective regional championships.

“The Playoff Tournament… will allow fans of all ages to see nations from across the world compete for the remaining three qualification slots as the excitement builds before the FIFA Women’s World Cup,” FIFA Chief Women’s Football Officer Sarai Bareman stated.

READ MORE: Alex Lees: England can chase against India

The Playoff Tournament follows FIFA’s decision in 2019 to increase the number of teams playing in the Women’s World Cup from 24 to 32 starting in 2023, as interest in women’s football grows.

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *